• NoBS Wellness™ Team

What is an Aura, Anyways?

Updated: Mar 3

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of auras. Imagining a bright beautiful rainbow that glows around each person that I pass by on the street, sounds like a pretty colorful and dreamy world to live in. However, I actually learned that there is a reason why you don’t want an aura that looks like a beautiful rainbow (read on to learn why), and a whole lot more about auras when we spoke with Charlie Watts of the Aura Weaver in Episode 21 on the podcast. If you are curious too, but don’t have an hour to listen, then here are the cliff notes.

What is an aura, anyways?

Auras are the visual representation of the energy fields that surround all things. Every person and living thing has one, but to most people it is invisible. Similar to how machines such as the Electric Potential Sensor, developed by researchers at the University of Sussex, can measure heart rate from three feet away through the energy it gives off, the aura is a representation of the complete human body’s energetic field. The field is based upon seven layers, which correspond to the chakras or major energy centers of the body. These seven layers are visually represented by seven colors, or as I said, the rainbow!

What do the colors mean?

The seven colors relate to each chakra and its associated correspondence to emotional and spiritual feelings. To give you a quick snapshot, here is each color, its chakra, and its meaning:

Red Aura

The root chakra is our link to the earth. It is at the base of the torso, and is our connection to the physical world and our basic needs for survival. The red aura is connected to the root chakra and represents leadership, ambition, and drive for worldly possessions.

Orange Aura

The sacral chakra is at the base of our stomach, and represents our connection to our emotions, movement, and flow. The orange aura represents this chakra and symbolizes our entrepreneurial and creative spirit.

Yellow Aura

The solar plexus chakra is in the middle of our body and is where our inner power comes from. It governs our self-confidence, ego, and power for transformation. The yellow aura signifies this chakra and represents manifestation and joy.

Green Aura

The heart chakra is located in the space of our heart and governs love and our emotional development. The green aura connects to the heart chakra and signifies connections and our ability to give unconditional love.

Blue Aura

The throat chakra governs communication and self-expression. The blue aura represents this chakra, speaking your truth, and expressing your authentic self.

Indigo (Purple) Aura

The third eye chakra is located in the center of your forehead and rules our intuition and connection to the spiritual world. The blue aura reflects this chakra and conveys this intuition and our self-awareness.

White Aura

The crown chakra is at the top of the head and connects us to all beings or the universe. This chakra appears visually through the color white. It signifies that one is very open and has a strong connection to the energy of the world.

Can auras change over time?

While you probably have a base color or a few colors that you tend to be over time, an aura can and will change over time depending on the emotional and physical state of the individual. If you were to go to someone to photograph and read your aura, know that that is a representation of a point in time and not necessarily, what you will always reflect. If you do have your aura read over time, it is likely that you will see a couple of colors reflected back consistently that relate to your core being.

Why should I care to know about my aura?

You may wonder, why does this even matter? Indulge me for a second for a personal aside, and I will explain why. When I was in college, I went on a winter interim trip to Greece. Because it was with school and somewhat educational (albeit a blast as a 20 year old American in an 18-year-old drinking age European country!), we went to the historical city of Delphi. This city in Greece is known for its ancient ruins and rich history in Greek philosophy. On one of those ancient ruins, the Temple of Apollo once had the inscription “know thyself”. Such an important nugget of advice that it has survived thousands of years even through our modern world today.

Learning about your aura is a great way to live this advice of “know thyself”, especially as a tool for your spiritual wellness. If you can come to learn your baseline aura colors and what those mean about your strengths as a person, it can help drive more clarity as to how you can use your own unique skills in this world.

Ways to learn more about your aura

If my Greek philosophy tale has inspired you, then here are a few resources that you can check out to get an aura photo or reading:

If you’re looking for a quick and easy option, check out this quiz at mindbodygreen.

8 views0 comments